Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
News & Resources Safety at Work Safety at Home Safety on the Road Products & Training NSC Congress & Expo Find NSC Near You
For Immediate Release,
Kathy Lane
Communications Director
(630) 775-2307
Distinguished Service to Safety Award Recipients Honored

Itasca, IL – The National Safety Council announced this year’s Distinguished Service to Safety Award recipients. The DSSA is the highest honor bestowed on an individual safety professional by NSC in recognition of outstanding service to the field of safety. The eight recipients were inducted during the Nov. 6 opening session of NSC's 94th Annual Congress & Expo at the San Diego Convention Center, Nov. 3-10.

This year’s recipients are:
  • Jukka Takala, Ph.D., director, The European Agency for Safety and Health At Work, Bilbao, Spain
  • Dennis J. Erickson, Ph.D., senior advisor (retired), Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM
  • Witt Davis, IV, president, Dewitt Davis IV, Virginia Beach, VA
  • Lawrence Gibbs, associate vice provost for EH & S, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • James R. Rhudy, construction safety supervisor, Chicago Bridge and Iron, The Woodlands, TX
  • Roy Dean Foster, labor liaison, U.S. Department of Labor/OSHA, Dallas, TX
  • Isabel Krueger, manager, corporate safety, Coast Mountain Bus Company, Ltd., Surry, British Columbia, Canada
  • Glen Mudd, safety manager, Louisville Water Company, Inc., Louisville, KY

The National Safety Council ( saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads, through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy      About Us      Careers      Sitemap      Contact Us           
Instant SSL Certificate Secure Site

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams