Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
News & Resources Safety at Work Safety at Home Safety on the Road Products & Training NSC Congress & Expo Find NSC Near You
For Immediate Release,
Kathy Lane
Communications Director
(630) 775-2307

Labor Division of the National Safety Council honors member for service to safety 

The Labor Division of the National Safety Council recently presented the Edward Eagan “Soldier of Safety” award to Twana McFann at their meeting in Philadelphia. The Edward Eagan “Soldier of Safety” award, first presented in 1999, is a tribute to the ideals and guidance Edward Eagan practiced every day in the promotion of safety and health for the American worker. 

McFann, is a member of AFSCME Local 1632 in Columbus, Ohio where she is a safety technician for the Department of Public Utilities. McFann started in the Electricity Division of the department in 2002, and since 2005, has worked with all areas of the department including water, wastewater and electric. McFann is an instructor on multiple topics, but primarily focuses on electrical work as well as regulatory compliance, overseeing all aspects of electrical training, written programs/procedures, observations and inspections within the department. 

“Twana McFann has devoted her life’s work to promoting safety and educating others just as Edward Eagan did,” said Sloane Grubb, volunteer manager of the National Safety Council. “The Labor Division is proud to present Ms. McFann with this award for her leadership and outstanding efforts in championing safety.”

National Safety Council members participate in a variety of industry specific groups called “Divisions.” Divisions provide opportunities to interact and discuss safety issues with other professionals who share the same job responsibilities, have experienced the same challenges and can share their thoughts and ideas to help develop solutions to the industry’s most pressing issues. 

McFann has been active with the Labor Division of the National Safety Council since 1999. She currently serves as a liaison between the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Safety Caucus and the Labor Division. McFann also serves on the Welcoming Committee and Utilities Committee of the Labor Division as Vice Chair. 

Edward Eagan was part of IBEW Local 103 and served as a highly-regarded labor liaison with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Eagan passed away in 1997. The U.S. Secretary of Labor at the time, Alexis M. Herman, wrote in a tribute: “Eddie Eagan’s passing is a monumental loss to OSHA and the Department of Labor, but most of all to the working men and women to whom he devoted his own working life.” 

Disclaimer & Privacy Policy      About Us      Careers      Sitemap      Contact Us           
Instant SSL Certificate Secure Site

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams