Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
News & Resources Safety at Work Safety at Home Safety on the Road Products & Training NSC Congress & Expo Find NSC Near You
For Immediate Release,
Kathy Lane
Communications Director
(630) 775-2307
National Safety Council designates Murray State University a Safe Community
Itasca, IL – On Dec. 7, the National Safety Council will designate Murray State University in Murray, KY as a Safe Community through its Safe Communities America program. Murray State University is the third academic institution, first public university and the 22nd in the United States to be recognized as an international Safe Community.
Don Robertson, vice president for student affairs and co-chair of the Murray State University Safe Communities Task Force, believes the program gives the community further direction and support. “We are very proud to be the third university and the first public university in the world to be designated a Safe Community,” he said. “Being a part of this program will assist us in furthering our safety and health efforts.”
The Safe Communities program not only validates what the University is doing regarding safety and health, but also helps recognize the work already being done. The process of putting the application together allowed the University to see all the various programs and activities, how they intertwined with one another and assisted with addressing safety and health issues for students, faculty, staff and all visitors involved.
 The application process was completed in October 2012 when accredited Safe Community reviewers visited Murray State University for a two-day tour. The visit included an overview of injury prevention efforts and programs on campus. It was evident through the site visit that MSU is student-driven, and has a never ending desire to learn from the past, evaluate the present and work on a better future.
“We have been very impressed with the way all stakeholders at Murray State University are working together to stay safe. They are better positioned to prevent injuries and deaths through this collaborative approach,” said Donna Stein-Harris, senior director of Safe Communities America for the National Safety Council.
The international Safe Community designation is based on six criteria: 
  • A cross-sectional partnership responsible for the promotion of community safety
  • Long-term sustainable programs for all genders, ages, environments and situations
  • Programs targeting high-risk groups and environments
  • Programs documenting the frequency and causes of injuries
  • Evaluation measures to assess programs and the effects of change
  • Ongoing participation in national and international Safe Communities networks
Under the auspices of the World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Community Safety Promotion, NSC is the International Certifying Center for the U.S. through its Safe Communities America program. Safe Communities America guides community stakeholders to reduce injuries and promote safety for the residents of their community. NSC will present the Safe Community designation to Murray State University on Dec. 7 at 7:30 a.m. during a Chamber of Commerce breakfast to be held on campus.  
For more information, please visit
About the National Safety Council
Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, the National Safety Council ( is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to save lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. NSC advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact -- distracted driving, teen driving, workplace safety and safety beyond the workplace.
Disclaimer & Privacy Policy      About Us      Careers      Sitemap      Contact Us           
Instant SSL Certificate Secure Site

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams