Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
News & Resources Safety at Work Safety at Home Safety on the Road Products & Training NSC Congress & Expo Find NSC Near You
For Immediate Release,
Kathy Lane
Communications Director
(630) 775-2307

Safe Office Award Presented to Members of Congress

On March 3, the Office of Compliance and the National Safety Council presented 154 members of the 111th Congress with the Office of Compliance’s Safe Office Award.

“Recognizing members of Congress for their safe workplaces reiterates that we all have a responsibility to eliminate hazards. As an ongoing recognition effort, the Safe Office Award reminds us that safety excellence is a journey and the milestones that mark the progress made in the journey are to be celebrated,” said Jim Johnson, NSC senior director of Workplace Initiatives. “When the celebration is over, the journey continues, more hazards are identified and eliminated, and the daily reward is that people will go home to their families and communities safe and unharmed, able to return to the work they are committed to.” 

The award, presented every two years, recognizes congressional offices that have achieved an exemplary level of safety for employees and visitors. Recipients received no safety violations during the Office of Compliance’s congressional office inspection. Seventeen of the 154 recipients previously won the award.

Jim Johnson, NSC senior director of Workplace Initiatives, addresses recipients of the Office of Compliance’s Safe Office Award
Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) accepts the Safe Office Award from General Counsel Peter Eveleth of the Office of Compliance and Johnson
Congressman Vern Ehlers (R-MI) accepts the Safe Office Award from Eveleth and Johnson 
Disclaimer & Privacy Policy      About Us      Careers      Sitemap      Contact Us           
Instant SSL Certificate Secure Site

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams