At Work At Home On the Road

Distinguished Service to Safety Award

  • The Distinguished Service to Safety Award recognizes outstanding service and contributions to the field of safety, and it is the most prestigious award given to individuals by the National Safety Council.

    Candidates for the DSSA are nominated by the general public and NSC members. To be eligible, candidates must have had a sustained impact on the safety movement at the local, national or international level that resulted in increased injury prevention. This may also include advancement of safety theory and research.

    Nominations for the 2017 award closed May 14 For more information, please contact Sarah Van Huis at

    History of the DSSA

    The first Distinguished Service to Safety Award was presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies who significantly supported U.S. workers during World War II by reducing occupational injuries. The award was restructured into four levels in 1951, and then reinstated in April 1954 as the highest Council award to individuals. The Distinguished Service to Safety Award is presented annually at the opening session of NSC Congress & Expo.

Nomination Form

Nominate someone for the Council's most prestigious award, the DSSA.

Get the Form
  • Distinguished Service to Safety Award Winners

    ​​Learn about the individuals who were honored in 2016.

    Meet the Winners

National Safety Council Mission

The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

© National Safety Council. All rights reserved.