At Work At Home On the Road

What is the NSC Labor Division?

  • ​The Labor Division is c​omprised of union-based safety professionals and government regulators who share interest in safety, health and environmental concerns within the industry. The Labor Division has 13 sections/committees:

    • Community Service/Public Safety
    • Construction
    • Ergonomics
    • Government
    • Industrial
    • Labor Agencies and Standards
    • Maritime
    • Occupational Driver
    • Occupational and Environmental Health
    • Promotion of Training and Education
    • Transportation
    • Troubled Worker Safety and Health
    • Utilities

    Labor Division Spring Meeting

    The spring Labor Division meeting will be held April 2-5 in Nashville.


    The Inn at Opryland (a Marriott property)
    2401 Music Valley Drive
    Nashville, TN 37214


    Full meeting registration fee: $130
    Awards luncheon only: $50
    Welcome reception only: $50
    Awards luncheon and welcome reception: $100

    Get the full meeting agenda here. For more information, please contact Bernadette Smith at or call (630) 775-2246. We look forward to seeing you in Music City!

  • Meet the Labor Division Leadership Team


    Twana McFann
    Safety Technician
    City of Columbus, Public Utilities
    Labor Division Chairman

    McFann, a member of AFSCME 1632 and I.B.E.W. Local 683 in Columbus, OH, has been with the Labor Division since 1999. She formerly was a journeyman wireman in construction. While currently working at a Municipal Utility for the City of Columbus, Public Utilities, she teaches multiple topics, but her focus is electrical work, regulatory compliance, overseeing electrical training, written programs/procedures, observations and inspections. When not working, she is a Midwest representative for The Fallen Lineman Organization, a nonprofit that aids Electrical Lineworker families who have experienced on-the-job injuries and fatalities.


    Les Johnson
    Safety Committee Chairman
    IBEW Local 733
    Labor Division Vice Chairman

    Johnson is a full-time union safety representative at Ingalls Shipbuilding, Division of Huntington Ingalls Industries. He is a member of the Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety and Health and has been a member of the NSC Labor Division for 17 years.


    Joseph Grabinski
    Chief Union EHS Steward
    Immediate Past Chairman/Secretary

    Grabinski holds a bachelor's in business administration from Post University and is an OSHA-authorized trainer. He has held many leadership positions in the Labor Division since 1999. He is on the board of The Workplace Inc. and is mentoring chief program coordinator for Teamster/Sikorsky Career Pathways. He previously served as Borough of Naugatuck Plan Commission member and Connecticut State Board of Education High School Reform Advisory Board member.

    Mark Johnson

    Mark Johnson
    Safety and Health Director
    TWU Local 513
    Vice President for Labor



    Tammy T. Washington
    NSC Division Program Manager

    Tammy has been employed with NSC for more than 10 years. She is responsible for managing the NSC volunteer engagement programs, meetings, websites and databases. Besides the Labor Division, she also works with the Business & Industry, Construction, Utilities, and Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment divisions. Tammy can be reached at (630) 775-2227.

  • Testimonials

    "As a member [of the] NSC Labor Division I have received excellent training from peer experts and developed a network of union safety specialists. I have also grown as a safety leader both at work and in my community thanks to the strong leadership of the Labor Division."

    – Rick Irwin, Safety Blue Hat, IBEW Local 965

    “Being a member of the Labor Division has provided me tremendous training and networking opportunities. This has not only helped me to understand the various safety and health issues and solutions at other workplaces within my industry, but I have a better understanding of safety and health solutions throughout many different workplaces. This also provides many resources willing to provide assistance and feedback on safety and health issues."

    – Ronald Miller, Ground Safety Director, I.A.M. District 142

Join a Division

Division members network with other safety professionals, attend industry-specific events and participate in safety-based discussions that impact work, home and community. Join now.

  • Need Ideas From Safety Colleagues?

    When you sign up for the Journey to Safety Excellence, you gain access to a community where you can pose questions and learn from the experts.

    Join the Journey

From the National Safety Council's Safety+Health magazine
Retrieving Data

Edward Egan Soldier of Safety Award

Awarded to a Division member who embodies the ideals and guidance that Edward Eagan practiced every day in the promotion of safety and health for the American worker. Edward Eagan was part of IBEW Local 103 and served as a highly regarded labor liaison with OSHA. Eagan passed away in 1997.

National Safety Council Mission

The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

© National Safety Council. All rights reserved.