At Work At Home On the Road

Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division

  • ​The NSC Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division tackles substance abuse and prescription drug issues and makes recommendations to combat the drinking and driving problem through legislation, education and other countermeasures. The Division also offers plenty of opportunities for safety-focused networking with others in your field.

    Meet the NSC ADID Leaders


    Chairman Laura J. Liddicoat


    Liddicoat received a bachelor's in medical technology at University of Wisconsin. She is a member of the Society of Forensic Toxicologists, American Academy of Forensic Sciences, International Association for Chemical Testing, Joint AAFS/SOFT Driving Under the Influence of Drugs Committee and the Organization of Scientific Area Committees. Liddicoat worked for 29 years in the Forensic Toxicology Section at the Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene, where she served as technical expert for alcohol and drug chemists, reported and interpreted alcohol/drug results and provided testimony regarding drug pharmacology and effects on driving.

    Vice-chairman Chester Flaxmayer

    Biographical information to come.

    Secretary Robert D. Johnson Ph.D

    Johnson earned a Ph.D in analytical chemistry from The University of Oklahoma. Certified as a Diplomate by the American Board of Forensic Toxicology, he joined the Tarrant County Medical Examiner's Office as the chief toxicologist in 2011. Prior to joining the ME's office he worked for 10 years as a senior research chemist at the Federal Aviation Administration's Civil Aerospace Medical Institute in Oklahoma City. Dr. Johnson is active in the Society of Forensic Toxicologists, the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and the Southwestern Association of Toxicologists. He has published more than 50 scientific articles.

    NCC Staff Representative Deborah Trombley 

    Deborah Trombley has a 25-year background in injury control programs and marketing communications. At NSC, she works on influencing change in behavior and policies to reduce motor vehicle crashes. Deborah has worked on cell phone distracted driving, teen driving and Graduated Driver Licensing, alcohol-impaired driving, child passenger safety, including serving as Secretariat of the National Child Passenger Safety Board, and employer policies. Prior to jo­ining NSC, Deborah worked on underage drinking and youth violence issues at the Minnesota Department of Health. Deborah holds a master's in public health from University of Michigan.

    NSC Staff Representative Tess Benham

    Tess Benham is subject matter expert responsible for development, implementation and evaluation of programs to prevent prescription drug overdose.  In her work at the Council, she has developed programs promoting safety and health in home and community settings. Benham serves a Certifier for communities seeking designation through the Safe Communities America Initiative. She is a trained Illinois Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Crisis Counselor. Benham completed her bachelor's in management at George Mason University.


    Immediate Past Chairman Randall E. Beaty

    Biographical information to come.

    NSC Division Program Manager Tammy T. Washington

    Tammy has been employed with NSC for more than 10 years. She is responsible for managing the NSC volunteer engagement programs, meetings, websites and databases. Besides the Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division, she also works with the Business & Industry, Construction, Labor and Utilities divisions. Tammy can be reached at (630) 775-2227.

  • Robert F. Borkenstein Award

    ​The Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division of the National Safety Council has named Dr. Richard Compton the recipient of the 2015 Borkenstein Award. Dr. Compton is a research psychologist with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

    Read more about Dr. Compton's many achievements.

    The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions through a lifetime of service in the area of alcohol/drugs in relation to traffic and transportation safety. Winners exhibit ideals and achievements consistent with those of the late Dr. Robert F. Borkenstein, inventor of the Breathalyzer®.

  • Join a Division

    ​As a member of National Safety Council, you can participate in networking and problem-solving groups that allow you to play a safety leadership role in your industry.

    Join A Division
  • Borkenstein Winners

    Since 1989, NSC Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division has presented the Robert F. Borkenstein Award to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to traffic safety.

    See Past Winners

National Safety Council Mission

The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

Sign Up for Newsletter

© National Safety Council. All rights reserved.