• What is the NSC Labor Division?

  • NSC Members Can Get Involved

    ​The Labor Division is c​omprised of union-based safety professionals and government regulators who share interest in safety, health and environmental concerns within the industry.

    The Labor Division has 12 sections/committees:

    • Community Service/Public Safety
    • Construction
    • Ergonomics
    • Government
    • Labor Agencies and Standards
    • Industrial
    • Maritime
    • Occupational Driver
    • Occupational and Environmental Health
    • Promotion of Training and Education
    • Transportation
    • Troubled Worker Safety and Health
    • Utilities​
  • Testimonials

    "As a member [of the] NSC Labor Division I have received excellent training from peer experts and developed a network of union safety specialists. I have also grown as a safety leader both at work and in my community thanks to the strong leadership of the Labor Division."

    Rick Irwin
    Safety Blue Hat
    IBEW Local 965

    “Being a member of the Labor Division has provided me tremendous training and networking opportunities. This has not only helped me to understand the various safety and health issues and solutions at other workplaces within my industry, but I have a better understanding of safety and health solutions throughout many different workplaces. This also provides many resources willing to provide assistance and feedback on safety and health issues."

    Ronald Miller
    Ground Safety Director
    I.A.M. District 142

  • Edward Egan Soldier of Safety Award

    This is awarded to a division member who embodies the ideals and guidance that Edward Eagan practiced every day in the promotion of safety and health for the American worker. Edward Eagan was part of IBEW Local 103 and served as a highly-regarded labor liaison with the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. Eagan passed away in 1997.

  • In the News

    ​Twana McFann, vice chairperson for the Labor Division and safety program technician with the City of Columbus, Ohio, is featured in a Safety and Health magazine article, "Keeping Linemen Safe.” 

    2015 Spring Meeting


    The NSC Labor Division will hold its 2015 Spring Meeting April 19-22 at Renaissance Charlotte Suites Hotel, Charlotte, N.C. More information here.

  • Need Ideas From Safety Colleagues?

    When you sign up for the Journey to Safety Excellence, you gain access to a community where you can pose questions and learn from the experts.

    Join the Journey
  • Join a Division

    ​As a member of National Safety Council, you can participate in networking and problem-solving groups that allow you to play a safety leadership role in your industry.

    Join A Division
  • The Leadership Team

    ​​Get to know the All-Division leadership team. These NSC members serve on committees in all areas of safety, including alcohol and drug impairment, construction and transportation.

    Meet the Team!

National Safety Council Mission

The National Safety Council saves lives by preventing injuries and deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the roads through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

Sign Up for Newsletter

© National Safety Council. All rights reserved.