At Work At Home On the Road

MA Driver Retraining Program Frequently Asked Questions

  • Is this program mandatory?

    What is a surchargeable event?

    How long does the course take and what is it like?

    How will I know if I am required to complete this course?

    What are the costs and fees?

    When must I register for and complete this course?

    What will happen if I do not complete the course within the required time frame?

    When and where will the course be taught?

    What time do classes start?

    What is the National Safety Council's rescheduling fee policy?

    May I bring my children with me to class?

    How will my registration be confirmed? What do I need to bring to class?

    What if I have special needs such as physical, language, etc.?

    How long does it take after the course completion for the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) to update my driver record?

    What happens when there is a weather related cancellation?

    What is the NSC Code of Conduct?

    What is the National Safety Council and how can I contact them?


    Is this program mandatory?

    Yes, if a motorist is found to be responsible for 3 or more surchargeable events in a two-year period, the motorist is required, by law, to attend and pass the Massachusetts Driver Retraining Program. The two-year time frame is calculated from the conviction date.

    What is a surchargeable event?

    A surchargeable event is an "at fault" accident or motor vehicle violation which is susceptible to an insurance surcharge under the 2006 Safe Driver Insurance Plan (SDIP).

    How long does the course take and what is it like?

    In cooperation with the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), National Safety Council (NSC) will present its course in either one eight-hour session or two four-hour sessions. See the Course Schedule page. The program is aimed at changing behavior behind the wheel. Through this course, drivers learn why they continue to have driving related problems and how they can take responsibility for their actions. This course may provide you with the opportunity to keep your license while addressing your driving habits.

    How will I know if I am required to complete this course?

    If you received a Notice of Suspension from the Massachusetts RMV, you are required by law to attend and pass the Driver Retraining Program.

    What are the costs and fees?

    Each program costs $135 and can be paid with any major credit card. Payment is non-refundable unless the requirement is cancelled by the RMV and you have not yet completed the course.

    When must I register for and complete this course?

    Because classes fill quickly, it is recommended that you register for the course within 30 days of the date of issue of the Notice of Suspension.

    The RMV must receive your electronic completion at least four business days before the date your license would be suspended. Please schedule your class accordingly.

    What will happen if I do not complete the course within the required time frame?

    Your driver's license (or right to operate a motor vehicle) will be suspended until you satisfactorily complete the course and pay an additional reinstatement fee to the RMV. Completion of the program is required by Chapter 175, Section 113B of the Motor Vehicle and Traffic Laws of Massachusetts.

    When and where will the course be taught?

    National Safety Council has established classroom locations throughout Massachusetts. The eight-hour course will be taught in either two four-hour weeknight sessions or in a full one-day weekday, Saturday, or Sunday session.

    Please note: If you miss the second session of a two-session class, you will be required to complete the entire eight-hours again -- no exceptions.

    What time do classes start?

    Class start times vary by location and date. Please plan on arriving 15 minutes early to sign in to your class. You must arrive on time or you will not be admitted to class. If you arrive after the class has begun, you will be subject to additional rescheduling fees, as listed below.

    What is the National Safety Council's rescheduling fee policy?

    You may reschedule your class at no fee up to the day PRIOR to your scheduled class date. If you miss your scheduled class, you will be charged a non-refundable rescheduling fee.

    • $65 to reschedule on the day of your class
    • $135 to reschedule after the date of your class

    If you miss the first session of a two-session class, you will be charged the full rescheduling fee. You may reschedule via our website or by calling our office during regular business hours.

    May I bring my children with me to class?

    No. No one will be admitted with children. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience this may cause.

    How will my registration be confirmed? What do I need to bring to class?

    Within 24 hours of receipt of your registration and payment, National Safety Council will send you a confirmation notice (letter or email). You must bring the confirmation notice or number, some form of photo identification (driver's license, work ID, school ID, etc.) and a pen or pencil. You must also arrive 15 minutes prior to class start time to sign in. If you fail to bring these items to class, or arrive after the class start time, you will be charged a mandatory rescheduling fee. (Please see our Rescheduling Fee Policy above).

    What if I have special needs such as physical, language, etc.?

    Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring along a friend or family member 18 years of age or older to provide support during the class. Please notify National Safety Council via email or phone, or indicate your intentions on your registration form, so we may accommodate you.

    Hearing-impaired drivers: Please contact NSC via phone during normal business hours so we may request sign language interpreters for you.

    How long does it take after the course completion for the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) to update my driver record?

    Per the RMV, NSC must send your completion information via electronic transmittal. The RMV then updates your driver record. This process takes four business days.

    Please note: The RMV must receive your electronic completion at least four business days before the date your license would be suspended. Please schedule your class(es) accordingly.

    What happens when there is a weather related cancellation?

    In the event of a weather-related cancellation, the National Safety Council will attempt to contact you at the phone number and/or email address provided at the time you registered. Also, the facility holding the class will be notified and a sign will be posted. Colleges and/or businesses holding the Driver Retraining Program may announce cancellations on local television/radio stations. If you are unsure about a weather-related cancellation, please contact our program services staff at (800) 215-1581 from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. or 1 to 6:30 p.m. ET Monday through Friday, or 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday.

    NSC will work with the facility, instructor and students to schedule a new date and time, or enroll students in another existing class. If you feel it is unsafe to travel to your scheduled class due to weather, please contact our office.      

    Please note: Neither NSC nor the RMV is responsible for any driver's license suspended due to a weather-related cancellation. Classes fill up very quickly; we suggest you register as soon as you receive your first notice.

    What is the NSC Code of Conduct?

    The NSC Code of Conduct is available here, in English and in Spanish.

    What is the National Safety Council and how can I contact them?

    The National Safety Council is a nonprofit, non-governmental, international public safety organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health. NSC training is considered the "gold standard" in safety situations, and the RMV is pleased to tailor the Council's expertise toward helping Massachusetts repeat offenders.

    You can contact the NSC Driver Massachusetts Driver Retraining course staff as listed below:

    National Safety Council
    Attn: MA Driver Retraining Program
    200 Salina Meadows Pkwy
    Syracuse, NY 13212

    Email: massdriver@nsc.org

    Phone: (800) 215-1581

    Hours of Operation
    M-F 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 to 6:30 p.m.
    Sat. 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.

National Safety Council Mission

The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.

© National Safety Council. All rights reserved.