Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
News & Resources Safety at Work Safety at Home Safety on the Road Products & Training NSC Congress & Expo Find NSC Near You
      NSC HOME > Safety at Work > NSC Awards > Distinguished Service to Safety Award (DSSA)      
Distinguished Service to Safety Award (DSSA)



2013 Distinguished Service to Safety Recipients Recognized
Please help NSC congratulate the 2013 Distinguished Service to Safety Award recipients for this extraordinary accomplishment. This award recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to the Council, their own employers, other organizations, and their communities all in the name of safety and health. Annually, this award is presented to fewer than one dozen individuals throughout the world. Their achievements were recognized at the Opening Session of the NSC Congress & Expo on Monday, September 30, 2013 in Chicago, Illinois. 

View this year’s winners

History of DSSA
The Distinguished Service to Safety Award was first presented in 1942 to recognize individuals and companies who significantly supported the U.S. workers during World War II by reducing occupational injuries. The award was restructed into four levels in 1951, and then reinstated in April 1954 as the highest Council award to individuals. The Distinguished Service to Safety Award is presented annually at the Opening Session of NSC's Congress & Expo.

View the historical list of winners  

The Distinguished Service to Safety Award is the highest honor bestowed on an individual safety professional by NSC. The DSSA recognizes exemplary efforts and successes in improving safety and health at work, on the road, and in the home and community. Recipients are nominated and selected for their sustained impact on the safety movement on a national scope. The 2013 guidelines offer a more extensive outline of the criterion used during the nomination process. Only Division members and the NSC board or executive staff are eligible to nominate safety professionals for this award.

News Release Archive

2013 News Release

2012 News Release

2011 News Release

2010 News Release

2009 News Release

National Recognition for Safety Excellence

Achieving safety excellence is an ongoing process that requires commitment from your entire organization. Occupational awards let your organization embrace the Journey to Safety Excellence philosophy by providing measurable, highly visible national recognition for individuals and teams who reach important safety goals.

Showcase your organization's outstanding safety performance and commitment to preventing injuries and saving lives. Apply for an occupational award today! Not a member? Join now!








  CONTACT US: 1121 Spring Lake Drive Itasca, IL 60143-3201     1-800-621-7615  
Disclaimer & Privacy Policy      About Us      Careers      Sitemap      Contact Us     
Instant SSL Certificate Secure Site

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams