Frequently Asked Questions
Yes, depending upon the age of the motorist, the Connecticut Department of Motor
Vehicles has required that motorists must complete the Operator Retraining Program
if they have received too many moving violations.
If a driver between the ages of 16-17 has received on moving violation on their
record, they must, by law, complete the course. If a driver between the ages of
18-24 has received two moving violations (within 3 years of each other) on their
record, they must, by law, complete the course. If a driver age 25 or older receives
three moving violations on their record (within 3 years of each other) they must,
by law, complete the course.
In cooperation with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), National Safety Council
(NSC) will present its course in one four-hour session. See the course schedule
The program focuses on the principles of motor vehicle operation with an emphasis
on the need to practice safe, responsible driving behavior at all times. In addition,
the DDC-4-CT program facilitates discussion on driver attitudes behind the wheel
that may contribute to aggressive driving behavior.
The cost of the program is $60.00, payable via credit card or with a money order
You will need to contact the Connecticut DMV in order to address the violations
on your record. See Connecticut DMV Website.
If completion of the course becomes required, a notification letter will be mailed
to you from the Connecticut DMV.
According to the Connecticut DMV, you must complete this course within 60 days from
the date of issue of your notification letter from the DMV. Because classes fill
quickly, it is recommended that you register for the class as soon as possible;
however, the course must be completed at least two (2) weeks prior to the suspension
date in order to accommodate processing time.
Your operator license (or right to operate a motor vehicle) will be suspended until
you have satisfactorily completed the course. The DMV will also require that you
pay an extra fee to restore your license, once the course has been completed.
National Safety Council has a listing of many different agencies that offer the
program throughout Connecticut. The four-hour course is taught on weeknights, Saturdays
No. Only students with special needs may attend class with a family member or friend
who is of legal driving age. No one will be admitted with children.
Students may register either online (see course schedule page) or may call into
the National Safety Council at (800) 210-6407. When you call in, we will provide
choices for where and when our classes are offered, and assist you with registering
for a class.
Students will need to bring a photo id, such as their driver's license, work ID,
school ID etc, printed confirmation notice from email if registered online, and
a pen or a pencil.
Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring along a friend or family
member to provide support during the class. Please notify National Safety Council
of your intentions so we can plan for your comfort.
Please note: The support person must be of legal driving age.
Yes. To comply with the CT Department of Motor Vehicle regulations for the Operator
Retraining Program, NSC has included a 20-question test in its 4-hour curriculum.
Motorists must complete the test with a score of 70% or better to successfully pass
the course. In addition, immediately following the test, students will be asked
to complete an evaluation form for the DMV as well.
Per the DMV, National Safety Council must send your completion information via electronic
transmittal. The DMV then updates your driver record. This process can take anywhere
from 7-10 business days following course completion. This is why it is recommended
that all courses be completed at least 2 weeks before the intended suspension dates.
In the event of a weather related cancellation, National Safety Council (NSC) will attempt to contact you at the daytime telephone number you provided on the registration form. If you are unsure about a weather related cancellation, please
contact the program services staff at 1-800-210-6407 Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 7:15 p.m., Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. and Sunday 8:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
NSC will work with the instructor, facility and students to get the class rescheduled
to a new date and time.
If you feel it is unsafe for you to travel to your scheduled class due to weather,
please contact our office.
Please note: Neither the National Safety Council nor the Department of Motor Vehicles
is responsible for any driver's license that is suspended due to a weather related
cancellation. We remind you again that our classes fill quickly and it is suggested
that you register as soon as possible once the notice from the state is received.
Yes. There are times where a person may become required to complete the Operator
Retraining Program, but they no longer reside in the state of Connecticut. Also,
it is possible that during the 60 days that are given to complete the course, you
may not be in the state. If this is the case, you need to contact the National Safety
Council's program services staff at 1-800-210-6407, and they will assist you in
completing the program in your current state of residence.
A student may be dismissed or barred from the class for tardiness; intoxication;
consumption of controlled substances on the premises; rudeness; vulgar or disruptive
behavior; carry firearms or smoking in the classroom; or for inattentiveness such
as sleeping, reading materials not contained in the course instruction, etc. during
the class. Students dismissed for violating rules of conduct may be readmitted at
the discretion of the National Safety Council and the Department of Motor Vehicles.
The National Safety Council is a not-for-profit, non-governmental, international
public safety organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health.
You can contact the National Safety Council's Operator Retraining Program staff
at the following:
National Safety Council
Attn: Connecticut Program
200 Salina Meadows Parkway
Syracuse, NY 13212
(800) 210-6407 (Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4:45 p.m., Saturday 8:00 a.m.
- 12:00 p.m. EST)
(315) 453-7000 (fax)
TTY line for the hearing impaired: (866) 268-0503
All course fees are non-refundable. In order to reschedule with no additional cost,
the student is required to contact the National Safety Council at (800) 210-6407
during regular business hours at least 24 hours prior to the start time of the scheduled
class. Should the student fail to call in advance to reschedule and fail to appear
at the scheduled class, the student will forfeit their payment and will be charged
an additional fee to re-register.