Connecticut Operator Retraining Program

National Safety Council four-hour Defensive Driving Course Connecticut (DDC-CT) is approved by the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles to satisfy the requirement to attend an Operator Retraining Program.

Coronavirus Update

Urgent: In an effort to ensure the health and wellbeing of our instructors and students due to current coronavirus concerns, the National Safety Council, in partnership with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (CT DMV) has canceled all CT classroom Operator Retraining Program classes until further notice.

NSC is pleased to let you know that the CT DMV is temporarily allowing your Operator Retraining Program requirement to be completed using our 4-hour online class. This process is easy and convenient as it can be done right from your own home.

  • If you were already enrolled in an Operator Retraining Program classroom class scheduled through April 30, you will automatically be transferred into this online class. Look for mail or email in the coming days that includes a unique access code and instructions on how to login and complete your 4-hour online class.
  • If you weren’t already registered for a classroom class, please call (800) 210-6407 today and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you with your registration for our 4-hour online class.

Please complete the online class at least two weeks prior to your effective date of suspension to allow time for processing.

About the Program

Motorists must attend if they are:

  • 24 or younger with two convictions involving either moving or suspension violations
  • 25 or older with three convictions involving either moving or suspension violations

Failure to attend a retraining class will result in driver’s license suspension. If the license is suspended, removal of the suspension will occur only after the DMV receives confirmation from NSC that you have completed the course.

Motorists are encouraged to complete the retraining class at least two weeks prior to the effective date of suspension to allow for processing prior to the suspension date. If you do not complete the class prior to the effective date of suspension, you must also pay a restoration fee.

Motorists may also be required to attend due to other circumstances. Classes are available statewide.

For Information About Your Driving Record

  • Visit the CT DMV website, or see page 56 of the CT Driver’s Manual (available in English or Spanish), under “Your License and the Law” for information on who must retrain. (Adobe Reader is needed to view the manual.)
  • Call the DMV at (800) 842-8222 or (800) 263-5720

Why Choose NSC?

  • DDC-CT is a highly effective interactive course that features activities, case studies, discussions and two video presentations. You won’t be bored in our course.
  • NSC sets the standard in the industry for development and training of quality instructors. Your instructor will keep the course interesting.
  • NSC Defensive Driving Courses are trusted by more traffic safety courts, motor vehicle departments, municipalities, businesses, government agencies and driving schools nationwide for consistent quality and content. You will be in good company.
  • NSC DDC programs are designed and written with the assistance of a select group of devoted highway traffic safety trainers and related specialists who volunteer their time and talents to the research, development and updates of the Defensive Driving Courses. You will know you are getting the best.

Contact Information

For more information about the CT Operator Retraining Program or to enroll in a class, please contact program staff at (800) 210-6407 or [email protected].

Office hours are 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday (EST).

NSC can make arrangements for the hearing impaired. For assistance, please contact us at the number above.

Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles