Massachusetts RMV-Approved Defensive Driving Courses
NOW AVAILABLE: MA RMV has temporarily approved an alternative way to deliver the statutorily required content in the form of a 4-hour online class. For a limited time, your participation in the online course will fulfill your in-person class requirement. The process is easy and convenient, and the online course can be completed anywhere you have an internet connection.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV), a hearings officer or a court has mandated you to complete one or more of the classes listed below. Refer to your letter from the MA RMV to determine which class you are required to complete. You will not be issued a refund if you complete the incorrect class.
8-hour Driver Retraining Program
Motorists who have received a notification that the Massachusetts Registry of Vehicles intends to suspend their driver’s license or right to operate a motor vehicle for THREE SURCHARGEABLE EVENTS within a 24 month period are required to complete the 8-hour Driver Retraining Program to avoid the suspension or to have their license reinstated.
Click on the Register Today button above to register, reschedule or reprint a confirmation for your Driver Retraining Program class
4-Hour Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program
Junior Operator license holders who have had their driver’s license suspended under the Junior Operator laws must complete 4-hour Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program (Alive at 25) class in order to reinstate your driver’s license.
Drivers may also be mandated to complete the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program as assigned by a specific court or a RMV Hearings Officer.
Click on the Register Today button above to register for your Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Class.
Online Distracted Driving Program
Motorists who have been found responsible for two or more distracted driving, hands-free violations are required to complete the Online Distracted Driving Program.
Click on the Register Today button above to access the Distracted Driving Program.
4-Hour State Courts Against Road Rage (SCARR)
A Massachusetts Junior Operator driver's license or learner's permit holder that commits certain categories of motor vehicle violations is required under law to complete the SCARR program in order to reinstate their driver’s license.
Drivers may also be mandated to complete SCARR as assigned by a specific court or a RMV Hearings Officer.
National Safety Council has partnered with the Massachusetts State Police and Registry of Motor Vehicles to provide this program.
Click on the Register Today button above to register, reschedule or reprint a confirmation for your SCARR class.