MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course FAQ - National Safety Council
Hero Image

MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course FAQs

Is this program mandatory?

Yes. A new law passed in January 2007 by the Massachusetts legislature imposed new restrictions and mandatory training under the Junior Operator License program. Penalties for drivers under the age of 18 who receive a violation for drag racing or speeding may include completion of the Massachusetts Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course.

How long does the course take and what is it like?

The Alive at 25® course is a four-hour program targeting drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 – the group most likely to be involved in fatal collisions. This highly interactive program teaches young drivers how to take control of situations by taking responsibility for their own driving behavior. Skill practices and on-the-spot defensive driving techniques help change bravado to confidence.

Our instructors use personal examples, and even humor, to get their point across. They use workbook exercise, interactive media segments, group discussions, role-playing, and short lectures to help young drivers develop convictions and strategies that will keep them safer on the road.

The fee for this course is $90.

How will I know if I am required to complete this course?

The Massachusetts RMV will notify you by mail that you are required to attend the Massachusetts Driver Attitudinal Retraining Course.

When must I register for and complete this course?

You should complete the course during the suspension period so that you can either reapply for a Permit or your Junior Operator License can be reinstated when the suspension ends. As classes do fill quickly, it is highly recommended that you register for the course at least 60 days prior to the end of the suspension period.

What will happen if I do not complete the course within the required time frame?

If you do not complete the course by the end of the suspension period, your Junior Operator License will not be reinstated and your suspension will continue until you do satisfactorily complete the course. Permit holders who are suspended will not be allowed to reapply for a new permit until such time as the course is completed.

When and where will the course be taught?

National Safety Council has established classroom locations throughout Massachusetts. The 4-hour course will be held on weekends and weeknights. Go to the Course Schedule page to find a full listing of the class times and dates.

May I bring someone with me to class?

No. Only students with special needs may attend class with a family member or friend who is of legal driving age. No one will be admitted with children.

How will my registration be confirmed? What do I need to bring to class?

Within 24 hours of receipt of your registration and payment, National Safety Council will send you a confirmation notice via mail or email.You must bring either the class confirmation or the Class Code Number shown on the class confirmation.In addition, you must bring photo identification or you will not be admitted.Any form of photo identification is accepted provided it is an official document.Examples of acceptable photo identification include driver’s license, non-driver photo identification, school or college ID, work ID, etc.

What if I have special needs such as physical, language, etc.?

Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring along a friend or family member who holds a legal driver’s license with them to provide support during the class. Please notify National Safety Council of your intentions so we can plan for your comfort.

National Safety Council can make arrangements for the hearing impaired. If you need such services, please contact us at (866) 398-0864 or via email at [email protected]

How long does it take after the course completion for the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) to update my driver record?

Completions are electronically transmitted on the RMV’s ATLAS ePortal website the following business day after your completed class.This is a live transmit with no waiting period.National Safety Council will also mail you a certificate of completion for your records.

What happens when there is a weather related cancellation?

In the event of a weather related cancellation, National Safety Council will attempt to contact you at the daytime telephone number you provided on the registration form. Also, the facility holding the class will be notified and a sign will be posted. Colleges and/or businesses holding the Massachusetts Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program may announce cancellations on local radio stations. If you are unsure about a weather related cancellation, or if you believe it to be unsafe to travel to your scheduled class due to weather conditions, please contact the program services staff at (866) 398-0864 Monday through Friday 8:00 am and 6:30 pm, Saturday 8:00 am – 2:00 pm.

National Safety Council will work with the facility, instructor, and students to get the class rescheduled to a new date and time.

Please note: Neither the National Safety Council nor the Registry of Motor Vehicles are responsible for any delay in completion of a course due to a weather related cancellation. We remind you again that our classes fill very quickly and it is suggested you take potential weather problems into consideration in determining when you should attend.

What is the NSC Code of Conduct?

The NSC Code of Conduct is available in English and in Spanish.

What is the National Safety Council and how can I contact them?

The National Safety Council is a nonprofit, non-governmental, international public safety organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health. NSC training is considered the Gold Standard in safety situations.

You may contact the National Safety Council's Driver Massachusetts Driver Attitudinal Retraining course staff as listed below:

National Safety Council
Attn: MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program
200 Salina Meadows Pkwy
Syracuse, NY 13212

Email: [email protected]
Phone: (866) 398-0864
Hours of Operation: 8 a.m. to 12 p.m., and 1 to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday; 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday