MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. The Massachusetts legislature passed a law in 2007 imposing new restrictions and mandatory training under the Junior Operator License program. Drivers under the age of 18 who receive a violation for drag racing or speeding may be required to complete the MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program as part of the penalty.
The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (MA RMV) will mail you notification that you are required to complete the MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program.
National Safety Council has established classroom locations throughout Massachusetts. To access up-to-the-minute class schedules and seat availability, and register for the class of your choice, click here: MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Registration.
The cost of the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program is $100, payable at the time of registration by credit or debit card. This price includes electronic communication of your program completion to the MA RMV and a mailed certificate of completion.
Classes fill quickly. NSC recommends that you complete your registration at least 60 days prior to the end of your suspension period. You should complete the course during your suspension period so that you can either reapply for a permit, or so your Junior Operator License can be reinstated, when your suspension ends. If you do not complete the course by the end of the suspension period, your Junior Operator License will not be reinstated and your suspension will continue until you successfully complete the course. Permit holders who are suspended will not be allowed to reapply for a new permit until you successfully complete the course. Visit our secure website, MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Registration, to register today.
Immediately after you register, a class confirmation will be sent to you via email at the address you provided during registration. Please review the confirmation carefully, it contains important details needed for the day of class. To print or resend your confirmation, or to reschedule your class, visit MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Registration.
Please arrive 15 minutes early to sign in for your class. You must arrive on time. If you arrive after the class has begun, you will not be admitted. You must bring your Class Code Number shown on your confirmation email and a form of photo identification to class. Examples of acceptable photo identification include your learners permit, Junior Operator License, a work or school-issued photo identification, or a government-issued photo identification card. If you are unable to provide photo identification, you will not be admitted to class.
Yes. Your safety as well as the safety of everyone in the classroom is our greatest concern. Please review our Classroom Training Guidelines so you know what to expect on the day of class.
This highly interactive 4-hour program encourages young drivers between the ages of 16 and 24 (age group most likely to be involved in fatal collisions) to take responsibility for their driving behavior and teaches young drivers how to take control of situations by taking responsibility for their own driving behavior. Skill practices and on-the-spot defensive driving techniques help change bravado to confidence. Alive at 25 instructors use personal examples and even humor to get their point across. They use workbook exercises, interactive media segments, group discussions, role-playing, and short lectures to help young drivers develop convictions and strategies that will keep them safer on the road.
Yes, successfully completing the Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program class requires passing a test.
National Safety Council electronically notifies MA RMV of your successful Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program completion the following business day. Your driver record is updated 2-3 business days after course completion.
Once registered all fees are non-refundable. To reschedule your class, visit MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program Registration.
You can reschedule your class to a different date or location without a fee up through the day prior to your chosen class date.
Rescheduling on or after the start date of your class for any reason requires a mandatory, non-refundable rescheduling fee of $100. Reasons may include, but are not limited to:
In the event of a weather-related or other emergency cancellation, National Safety Council will contact you at the telephone number and email address you provided during the registration process. The facility hosting the class will be notified and a sign may be posted. We will work with the instructor and facility to reschedule the class to a new date and time. If you are unsure if your class has been canceled due to weather, or if you feel it is unsafe for you to travel to your scheduled class due to weather, please contact the National Safety Council. Please note, neither NSC nor MA RMV is responsible for any Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program course that does not get completed by the required deadline due to a weather-related or other emergency cancellation.
All of our classes are in English, unless otherwise noted. If you need assistance with translation, please have someone attend class with you. They must be over the age of 18 and provide proper identification. Due to classroom capacity, please contact National Safety Council at [email protected] at least two weeks prior to your scheduled class date to reserve a seat if you plan to have someone attend with you. If you do not reserve a seat for your guest prior to class, you may be asked to leave (depending on classroom capacity) and will need to reschedule.
No, no one will be admitted with children.
Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring a friend or family member to support you during the class. The person must be over the age of 18 and provide proper identification. Due to classroom capacity, please contact National Safety Council at [email protected] at least two weeks prior to your scheduled class date to reserve a seat if you plan to have someone attend with you. If you do not reserve a seat for your guest prior to class, you may be asked to leave (depending on classroom capacity) and will need to reschedule.
National Safety Council can make arrangements for the hearing impaired. If you require such services, please contact us at [email protected] prior to registering for class.
If you reside in Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, or Rhode Island, you must return to Massachusetts to complete the course. If you reside in any other state, please contact us for information regarding how to complete the required course in your state of residence.
National Safety Council is committed to providing a positive and respectful learning environment. Our Code of Conduct outlines expectations of behavior during our classes. The Code of Conduct can be found here in English and Spanish.
The National Safety Council is America’s leading nonprofit safety advocate – and has been for over 100 years. As a mission-based organization, we work to eliminate the leading causes of preventable death and injury, focusing our efforts on the workplace, roadway and impairment. We create a culture of safety to not only keep people safer at work, but also beyond the workplace so they can live their fullest lives.
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (866) 398-0864
National Safety Council
Attn: MA Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program
200 Salina Meadows Pkwy
Syracuse, NY 13212
Hours of Operation:
Hours of Operation: Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.