2019 BEST Award

2019 BEST Award: Bolstering Everyday Safety for Teens

Submissions Accepted Until April 10, 2019

Car crashes and substance misuse are leading causes of death for teens. The Teen Injury Prevention Leadership Award, or BEST Award, will be granted to an individual or organization working to improve teen safety and save lives.

You or your organization should apply if you are:

  • Changing behaviors to reduce teen injuries using proven, evaluated methods
  • Leading efforts to educate and engage teens, parents and/or communities around teen safety practices
  • Advocating for policies based on proven principles of injury reduction

All nominations must be submitted through the online application, with all required fields complete. No other documents will be accepted in lieu of the online form.

What happened to the Teen Driving Safety Leadership Award?

New for 2019, the National Safety Council has reevaluated the Teen Driving Safety Leadership Award and expanded it to reflect the work done to keep teens safe – in all areas. Those working to promote teen driving safety are still eligible for the BEST Award, as are those working in substance misuse and other areas.

What is Graduated Driver Licensing?

Learn more about Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and why it works.

Learn about GDL