NSC Presents the Robert F. Borkenstein Award to Dr. Marilyn Huestis

NSC Presents the Robert F. Borkenstein Award to Dr. Marilyn Huestis

NSC Presents the Robert F. Borkenstein Award to Dr. Marilyn Huestis

The award honors those who have dedicated their careers to alcohol- and drug-related traffic safety.

Itasca, IL – The Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division of the National Safety Council named Dr. Marilyn Huestis recipient of the 2018 Robert F. Borkenstein Award. Huestis, an adjunct professor at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, is being recognized for her significant and prolific contributions to forensic toxicology as a leader, researcher, teacher and nationally known expert witness.

"Marilyn's extraordinary body of work has helped shape the field of forensic toxicology," said Kathy Bernstein, NSC director of awards and volunteers. "In our effort to eliminate preventable deaths, we need partners like Dr. Huestis to lead the conversation. The Council is proud to recognize her with this award."

Dr. Huestis has been recognized numerous times for her teaching, research and expertise in toxicology and the forensic sciences, including being identified as an "Inspiring Mind" by Clinical Chemistry. She has published 459 peer-reviewed manuscripts and book chapters and has received a Doctor Honoris Causa from the Faculty of Medicine, University of Helsinki in Finland. Dr. Huestis currently serves on the steering committee of The Lambert Center for the Study of Medicinal Cannabis and Hemp, and the Smart Approaches to Marijuana (SAM) Science Advisory Board. She is the senior scientific advisor of NMS Labs, acts as consultant to the US Department of Transportation and is president of Huestis and Smith Toxicology, LLC.

In addition, Dr. Huestis serves on the Organization of Scientific Area Committee on Toxicology, World Anti-doping Agency's Prohibited List Committee, Transportation Research Board Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs, and the NSC Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division Executive Board. Previously, Dr. Huestis served on the National Commission on Forensic Sciences, was president of the Society of Forensic Toxicologists, Chair of the Toxicology Section of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and president of The International Association of Forensic Toxicologists. She has received numerous awards and recognitions for her work.

The award, named for Breathalyzer® inventor Robert F. Borkenstein, recognizes individuals who, through a lifetime of service, have made outstanding contributions to the field of alcohol- and drug-related traffic safety. Honorees are selected by professionals involved in the Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division, managed by the National Safety Council.

Dr. Huestis was formally recognized Feb. 18.

About the National Safety Council
The National Safety Council is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to eliminate preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. Founded in 1913 and chartered by Congress, NSC advances this mission by partnering with businesses, government agencies, elected officials and the public in areas where we can make the most impact.

About the NSC Alcohol, Drugs and Impairment Division
The Alcohol, Drugs, and Impairment Division is comprised of professionals at National Safety Council member companies that are involved in toxicology and drug testing. The Division is active in making recommendations to control the impaired driving problem including legislation, enforcement, education and other countermeasure programs. Division members are not employed by the NSC, but support the Council's mission to eliminate preventable deaths in our lifetime.

Browse the NSC Newsroom
Search the NSC Newsroom
Contact the Media Team

NSC Studio

The National Safety Council has a broadcast TV and radio studio at its headquarters, with both HD and SD capabilities. We are happy to accommodate both live and taped interviews and work closely with your station’s tech team. Please direct inquiries to the above telephone number or email address.