NSC Honors Outstanding Contributions to Safety

National Awards Celebration at NSC Safety Congress & Expo recognizes best in class individuals and organizations.

September 20, 2022

SAN DIEGO – The National Safety Council hosted its National Awards Celebration in San Diego Monday evening to recognize individuals and organizations for helping to make communities, workplaces and roads in the U.S. safer. The event is held in conjunction with the NSC Safety Congress & Expo, the nation’s largest gathering of safety and health professionals.

The following awards were presented:

Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Drivers of the Year – recognizes professional drivers for their total driving record, including miles and years driven without a preventable crash. Winners from 2022 include Barry Marr (UPS), Bea Le (U.S. Postal Service), John R. Barto (U.S. Postal Service), Kenny Gregory (UPS), Paul Piper (National DCP), Rusty Holloway (United Parcel Service), Samuel Stevens (United Parcel Service), Valerie Quill (Kitsap Transit) and William Lazarski (UPS).

Workplace Safety Award – honors collective safety achievements and the implementation of effective safety policies and procedures. The 2022 winners include Environmental Resources Management, Golden State Foods, Jones Lang LaSalle (Bank of America and Pfizer Accounts), Lee Mechanical Contractors Inc., Performance Contracting Group, Port Arthur LNG and USD Group LLC.

Corporate Culture of Safety Award – recognizes organizations that have received more than 50 awards through the NSC awards program in 2022. Winners include Amentum, CDM Smith Inc., La-Z-Boy, Nexteer Automotive and Schneider Electric.

Rising Stars of Safety – recognizes tomorrow’s leaders under the age of 40 for their commitment to safety, influence on safety culture and creation of safety initiatives producing measurable outcomes. Learn more about the 2022 winners here.

Scholarships – supports and propels young leaders of diverse backgrounds into careers in safety and health and empowers recipients to change behavior in the workplace through educational and career advancement. Winners include:

● Women in Safety Scholarship: Bridget Mya Womack, Callie Ruppen, Olivia Anne Metzger and Royce L. Bird

● Billy D. Young Memorial Scholarship: Sophia Naugle  

● Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship: Karena O'Bryan

● NSC Congress & Expo Scholarship: David Sawyer and Ivan Nail Ulloa

● Diversity in Safety Scholarship: Ashley Craddock, Emmanuel Winful, Garrett Washington and Leila Ruggs

The National Safety Council congratulates these individuals and organizations for their commitment to saving lives and preventing injuries. Learn more about the NSC awards programs here.

About the National Safety Council
The National Safety Council is America’s leading nonprofit safety advocate – and has been for more than 100 years. As a mission-based organization, we work to eliminate the leading causes of preventable death and injury, focusing our efforts on the workplace, roadway and impairment. We create a culture of safety to not only keep people safer at work, but also beyond the workplace so they can live their fullest lives.

Partner with NSC

With a century-long legacy, the National Safety Council is a global center for safety expertise. Let's work together to align resources. We look forward to learning about ways we can join efforts to expand safety everywhere!

Shopping Cart

There are no items in your cart