NSC Honors Outstanding Contributions to Safety

National Awards Celebration at NSC Safety Congress & Expo recognizes best in class individuals and organizations.

October 25, 2023

NEW ORLEANS – The National Safety Council hosted its National Awards Celebration in New Orleans Tuesday evening to recognize individuals and organizations for helping to make communities, workplaces and roads in the U.S. safer. The event is held in conjunction with the NSC Safety Congress & Expo, the nation’s largest gathering of safety and health professionals.

The following awards were presented:

Joseph M. Kaplan Safe Drivers of the Year – recognizes professional drivers for their total driving record, including miles and years driven without a preventable crash. Winners from 2023 include Robert Bird (West Vancouver Transit), Patricia Calder (United Parcel Service), James McLeod (UPS), Bart Murray (United Parcel Service), Calton Murray (United Parcel Service), Terry Jones (UPS), Jethro Ruffin (UPS), Lawrence Sanchez (UPS), Steve Vermejan (United Parcel Service).

Workplace Safety Award – honors collective safety achievements and the implementation of effective safety policies and procedures. The 2023 winners include Ampirical Solutions, Carollo Engineers, Inc., CDM Smith Inc., Golden State Food KanPak, Golden State Foods, Jones Lang LaSalle, L.M. Sessler Excavation & Wrecking, Lancaster Safety Consulting Inc, La-Z-Boy, Lee Mechanical, Leidos Inc Engineering Solutions Group, Rolfson Oil, LLC, Tetra Tech, The Boeing Company, The Branch Group

Corporate Culture of Safety Award – recognizes organizations that have received more than 50 awards through the NSC awards program in 2023. Winners include Amentum, CDM Smith Inc., Jones Lang LaSalle and La-Z-Boy. 

Rising Stars of Safety, sponsored by Dow – recognizes tomorrow’s leaders under the age of 40 for their commitment to safety, influence on safety culture and creation of safety initiatives producing measurable outcomes. Learn more about the 2023 winners here.

Scholarships – support and propel young leaders of diverse backgrounds into careers in safety and health and empowers recipients to change behavior in the workplace through educational and career advancement. Winners include:

  • Women in Safety Scholarship: Brie Birkenbuel, Madelyn Hackney, Lisa Markey, Kayla Michalowski, Karena O'Bryan
  • Lorraine Pack Memorial Scholarship: Lilly-Anna van Gaal
  • NSC Congress & Expo Scholarship: Anslee Boyd, Christopher Lewis, Tucker Collins Sharp
  • Diversity in Safety Scholarship, sponsored by Amentum, Jacobs and an anonymous donor: Suhas Sudhir Bharadwaj, Nyala Brooks, Amaya Fisher, Taylor Foster, Lillian Johnson, Brittany Metoxen, Marcus Rayner, Kelley Anne Severinson, Rudy Solano, Chiemezie Anthony Udemba, Brian Williams

The National Safety Council congratulates these individuals and organizations for their commitment to saving lives and preventing injuries. To learn more about the NSC awards programs, visit nsc.org/awards.

About the National Safety Council
The National Safety Council is America’s leading nonprofit safety advocate – and has been for 110 years. As a mission-based organization, we work to eliminate the leading causes of preventable death and injury, focusing our efforts on the workplace and roadways. We create a culture of safety to not only keep people safer at work, but also beyond the workplace so they can live their fullest lives.

Partner with NSC

With a century-long legacy, the National Safety Council is a global center for safety expertise. Let's work together to align resources. We look forward to learning about ways we can join efforts to expand safety everywhere!

Shopping Cart

There are no items in your cart