Our Mission is Safety
The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.
Have questions? Visit our FAQs or contact NSC.
Is this program mandatory?
Yes, depending upon the age of the motorist, the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles has required that motorists must complete the Operator Retraining Program if they have received too many moving violations.
How many moving violations did I have to have to be required to take the class?
If a driver between the ages of 16-17 has received on moving violation on their record, they must, by law, complete the course. If a driver between the ages of 18-24 has received two moving violations (within 3 years of each other) on their record, they must, by law, complete the course. If a driver age 25 or older receives three moving violations on their record (within 3 years of each other) they must, by law, complete the course.
How long does the course take, what is it like, and what does it cost?
In cooperation with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), National Safety Council (NSC) will present its course in one four-hour session. See the course schedule page. The program focuses on the principles of motor vehicle operation with an emphasis on the need to practice safe, responsible driving behavior at all times. In addition, the DDC-4-CT program facilitates discussion on driver attitudes behind the wheel that may contribute to aggressive driving behavior.The cost of the program is $85, payable via credit card or with a money order at class.
What if I feel I was not responsible for a violation reported on my driver record?
You will need to contact the Connecticut DMV in order to address the violations on your record.
See Connecticut DMV Website
How will I know if I am required to complete this course?
If completion of the course becomes required, a notification letter will be mailed to you from the Connecticut DMV.
When must I register and complete this course?
According to the Connecticut DMV, you must complete this course within 60 days from the date of issue of your notification letter from the DMV. Because classes fill quickly, it is recommended that you register for the class as soon as possible; however, the course must be completed at least two (2) weeks prior to the suspension date in order to accommodate processing time.
What will happen if I do not complete the course within the required time frame?
Your operator license (or right to operate a motor vehicle) will be suspended until you have satisfactorily completed the course. The DMV will also require that you pay an extra fee to restore your license, once the course has been completed.
When and where will the course be taught?
National Safety Council has a listing of many different agencies that offer the program throughout Connecticut. The four-hour course is taught on weeknights, Saturdays and Sundays.
May I bring my children with me to class?
No. Only students with special needs may attend class with a family member or friend who is of legal driving age. No one will be admitted with children.
How can I register for this course?
Students may register online or call the National Safety Council at (800) 210-6407 from 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, or 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday (EST). When you call in, we will provide choices for where and when our classes are offered, and assist you with registering for a class.
What do I need to bring to class with me?
Students will need to bring a photo id, such as their driver’s license, work ID, school ID etc, printed confirmation notice from email if registered online, and a pen or a pencil.
What if I have special needs such as physical, language, etc.?
Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring along a friend or family member to provide support during the class. Please notify National Safety Council of your intentions so we can plan for your comfort. Please note: The support person must be of legal driving age.
Will there be a test at the end of the course?
Yes. To comply with the CT Department of Motor Vehicle regulations for the Operator Retraining Program, NSC has included a 20-question test in its 4-hour curriculum. Motorists must complete the test with a score of 70% or better to successfully pass the course. In addition, immediately following the test, students will be asked to complete an evaluation form for the DMV as well.
How long does it take after the course completion for the DMV to update my driver record?
Per the DMV, National Safety Council must send your completion information via electronic transmittal. The DMV then updates your driver record. This process can take anywhere from 7-10 business days following course completion. This is why it is recommended that all courses be completed at least 2 weeks before the intended suspension dates.
What happens if there is a weather related cancellation?
In the event of a weather related cancellation, National Safety Council (NSC) will attempt to contact you at the daytime telephone number you provided on the registration form. If you are unsure about a weather related cancellation, please contact the program services staff at 1-800-210-6407 between 8 a.m. and 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, or 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. Saturday (EST). NSC will work with the instructor, facility and students to get the class rescheduled to a new date and time. If you feel it is unsafe for you to travel to your scheduled class due to weather, please contact our office. Please note: Neither the National Safety Council nor the Department of Motor Vehicles is responsible for any driver’s license that is suspended due to a weather related cancellation. We remind you again that our classes fill quickly and it is suggested that you register as soon as possible once the notice from the state is received.
What if I no longer live in the state of Connecticut, but still have to take the class? Can I take it in a different state?
Yes. There are times where a person may become required to complete the Operator Retraining Program, but they no longer reside in the state of Connecticut. Also, it is possible that during the 60 days that are given to complete the course, you may not be in the state. If this is the case, you need to contact the National Safety Council’s program services staff at 1-800-210-6407, and they will assist you in completing the program in your current state of residence.
What is the National Safety Council Code of Conduct Policy?
Please click here to view our Code of Conduct Policy.
What is National Safety Council and how can I contact them?
The National Safety Council is a not-for-profit, non-governmental, international public safety organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health. You can contact the National Safety Council’s Operator Retraining Program staff at the following:
National Safety CouncilAttn: Connecticut Program200 Salina Meadows ParkwaySyracuse, NY 13212
[email protected]Phone (800) 210-6407 (8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday EST)Fax (315) 453-7000TTY line for the hearing impaired (866) 268-0503
All course fees are non-refundable. In order to reschedule with no additional cost, the student is required to contact the National Safety Council at (800) 210-6407 during regular business hours at least 24 hours prior to the start time of the scheduled class. Should the student fail to call in advance to reschedule and fail to appear at the scheduled class, the student will forfeit their payment and will be charged an additional fee to re-register.
For more information about the CT Operator Retraining Program or to enroll in a class, please contact program staff at (800) 210-6407 or
Office hours are 8 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, and 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday (EST).
NSC can make arrangements for the hearing impaired. For assistance, please contact us at the number above or call the TTY line, (866) 268-0503.
The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. Donate to our cause.
The National Safety Council is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization.