Hero Image

Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division

The Borkenstein Award, named for Breathalyzer® inventor Robert F. Borkenstein, recognizes individuals who, through a lifetime of service, have made outstanding contributions to the field of alcohol- and drug-related traffic safety. Honorees are selected by professionals involved in the Alcohol, Drugs, and Impairment Division, which is managed by the National Safety Council.

Jennifer Limoges will be Honored with the 2023 Borkenstein Award

Join us in Orlando, Florida, on Feb. 12, 2023, to honor this year's recipient.

Jerry Landau Earns 2022 Borkenstein Award

Jerry Landau was presented the 2022 Robert F. Borkenstein Award. Landau is recognized for his career spanning more than 40 years as a litigator, judge, legislative consultant and educator. His dedication, knowledge and expertise have made him a leader in the criminal justice and legislative community, allowing him to save lives by advancing safety policies and practices that prevent drug and alcohol impairment.

Landau has served the NSC-ADID for 30 years, including as both vice-chair and chair of the then Committee on Alcohol and Other Drugs, and as the long-time chair of the Legal Factors Section. Last month, he retired as senior consultant to the Arizona Supreme Court Administrative Office of the Courts and currently serves as judge pro-tempore. 

During his more than 40-year legal career in Arizona, he has been director of government affairs for the Administrative Office of the Courts, and special assistant and division chief in the Maricopa County (Arizona) Attorney’s Office. He has served on numerous legislative committees and participated in writing Arizona’s criminal and traffic laws. 

Landau has been involved with numerous projects, task forces and schools related to public safety for a host of state, regional and national organizations and agencies. Landau also authored a chapter of the book “Medical-Legal Aspects of Alcohol” and has written articles on DUI law for the Arizona State Bar Journal and the Maricopa County Lawyer, as well as articles on legislation for the Arizona Law Journal and the Arizona Attorney.

Landau was formally recognized Feb. 20.

Division Documents and Articles

Meet the NSC Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division Leaders

The NSC Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division tackles substance abuse and prescription drug issues and makes recommendations to combat the impaired driving problem through legislation, education and other countermeasures. The Division also offers opportunities for safety-focused networking with others in the field.

Sabra Botch-Jones, PhD, D-ABFT
[email protected]
Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division Chair

Sabra Jones is a board-certified forensic toxicologist with a focus on transportation safety. Sabra is the regional toxicology liaison for National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Region 5, serving Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin. Sabra earned her master of science degrees in drug chemistry and forensic toxicology from the University of Florida, and undergraduate and graduate degrees from the University of Central Oklahoma. She is working on her Ph.D. in forensic science at Oklahoma State University Center for Health Science. She is vice-chair of the Academy Standards Board Toxicology Consensus Body.

Michael R. Corbett, Ph.D., LL.M., F-ABFT, FCSFS
[email protected]
Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division Vice Chair

Dr. Corbett is a forensic toxicologist with over 30 years of full-time experience. He received a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Toronto and an LL.M. from Osgoode Hall Law School at York University. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and the Chartered Society of Forensic Sciences, and a member of numerous other professional organizations, such as the Society of Forensic Toxicologists. He is the immediate past-president of the Medico-Legal Society of Toronto. He initially worked for 13 years as a forensic toxicologist for the Province of Ontario, and thereafter continued a full-time diverse consulting practice in forensic toxicology for more than 20 years. He was an adjunct professor in forensic science at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology for 10 years. He is a consultant inspector for the National Laboratory Certification Program in workplace drug testing. He has presented on research at forensic science conferences and education in legal programs. He has testified more than 950 times as an expert witness on alcohol, drugs and impairment/intoxication in cases involving death, injury and other aspects.

Robert D. Johnson Ph.D
[email protected]
Alcohol, Drugs & Impairment Division Immediate Past Chair

Mr. Johnson earned a Ph.D in analytical chemistry from The University of Oklahoma. Certified as a Diplomate by the American Board of Forensic Toxicology, he joined the Tarrant County Medical Examiner's Office as chief toxicologist in 2011. He previously worked for 10 years as a senior research chemist at the Federal Aviation Administration Civil Aerospace Medical Institute in Oklahoma City. Dr. Johnson is active in the Society of Forensic Toxicologists, the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and the Southwestern Association of Toxicologists. He has published more than 50 scientific articles.

Shopping Cart

There are no items in your cart