Our Mission is Safety
The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy.
Have questions? Visit our FAQs or contact NSC.
Is this program mandatory?
Yes. Drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 who have received two violations within 24 months or who received a citation under the Zero Tolerance Law are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course. The National Safety Council Alive at 25 class is approved by the State of Illinois to fulfill this requirement.
How long does the course take and what is it like?
In cooperation with the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department, NSC will present its course in one four-hour session.
Alive at 25 Driver Safety Course is a highly interactive four-hour intervention program that zeroes in on drivers ages 16 to 25 – the group most likely to be involved in a fatal collision. Alive at 25 Driver Safety Course uses workbook exercises, group discussions, role-playing and short lectures to help keep young drivers safe on the road.
What does the course cost?
The cost is $90 for drivers needing the course to fulfill the State-ordered Graduate to Safety Remedial Education Course requirement.
NSC is not responsible for drivers taking the incorrect class. Drivers will not be given a refund if the class has been completed. Please be sure you know exactly what class is required before you continue the registration process.
How will I know if I am required to complete this course?
If you are being required by the State to complete the course, a notification letter will be mailed to you from the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department.
When and where will the course be taught?
NSC has a listing of many different locations throughout Illinois. The four-hour course is taught on weeknights and Saturdays, depending on the location.
Will there be a test at the end of the course?
Yes. To comply with the Illinois Secretary of State Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education Course requirement, NSC has included a 20-question test in its four-hour curriculum. Drivers must score 70% or better to successfully complete the course. After successfully completing the course, your class information will be electronically sent to the Illinois Secretary of State the following business day.
May I bring anyone with me to class?
No. Only students with special needs may attend class with a family member or friend who is of legal driving age. Please notify the NSC before your class if you need such assistance.
What if I feel that I am not responsible for a violation reported on my driver record? Questions regarding violations and driver records must be addressed with the Illinois Secretary of State. Please visit cyberdriveillinois.com for more information.
How can I register for this course?
Students may either register online or call NSC at (800) 822-7009 between 7 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. (CST) Monday through Friday, or 7 a.m. and 1 p.m. Saturday.
What do I need to bring to class with me?
Students will need to bring some form of identification, such as their driver's license, permit, school ID or birth certificate, their confirmation notice, and a pen or pencil. No student will be admitted to the class without an email/mail registration confirmation or confirmation number.
What if I have special needs such as physical, language, etc.?
Drivers requiring special assistance are welcome to bring along a friend or family member to provide support during the class. Please notify NSC of your intentions so we can plan for your comfort. Please note: The support person must be of legal driving age.
What happens if there is a weather related cancellation?
In the event of a weather related cancellation, National Safety Council will attempt to contact you at the daytime telephone number provided during the registration process. If you are unsure about a weather related cancellation, please contact the program services staff at (800) 822-7009 between 7 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. (CST) Monday through Friday or 7 a.m. and 1 p.m. Saturday. NSC will work with the instructor, facility and students to get the class rescheduled to a new date and time. If you feel it is unsafe for you to travel to your scheduled class due to weather, please contact our office.
What if I no longer live in the state of Illinois, but still have to take the class? Can I take it in a different state?
Yes. If you are no longer living in Illinois and you need to complete the State-ordered Graduate to Safety Remedial Education Course, please contact NSC program services staff at (800) 822-7009, and someone will assist you in completing the program in your state of residence.
Rules of Operation and Conduct Policy
A student may be dismissed or barred from the class for tardiness, intoxication, consumption of controlled substances on the premises, rudeness, vulgar or disruptive behavior, carrying firearms or smoking in the classroom or building, or for inattentiveness such as sleeping, cell phone usage, reading materials not contained in the course instruction, etc., during the class. Students dismissed for violating rules of conduct may be readmitted at the discretion of the National Safety Council and the Ilinois Secretary of State.
What is National Safety Council and how can I contact them?
National Safety Council is a not-for-profit, non-governmental, international public safety organization dedicated to protecting life and promoting health. You may contact the National Safety Council at:
National Safety CouncilAttn: IL Remedial Driver Education Program200 Salina Meadows ParkwaySyracuse, NY 13212
E-mail: [email protected]Phone: (800) 822-7009, Fax (315) 453-7000 Hours: 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (CST) Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturday
To reschedule with no additional cost, students must contact National Safety Council at (800) 822-7009 during regular business hours at least 24 hours prior to the start time of the scheduled class. Should a student fail to call in advance to reschedule or fail to appear at the scheduled class, they will be charged a re-registration fee of $90. Once registered all fees are non-refundable.
The four-hour Remedial Driver Education class is offered in many locations throughout Illinois. Find an Illinois classroom near you.
The National Safety Council eliminates preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy. Donate to our cause.
The National Safety Council is a nonprofit, 501(c)(3) organization.