Illinois Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Yes. Drivers between the ages of 15 and 24 who have received two violations within 24 months, or who received a citation under the Zero Tolerance Law, are required by the State of Illinois to complete the Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education course as a condition for reinstatement of Driver’s License or Permit following suspension.
If you are required by the State of Illinois to complete the course, the Illinois Secretary of State Driver Services Department will mail you a notification letter.
National Safety Council presents the course in one 4-hour Virtual Instructor-Led Training session, including one 15-minute break. This highly interactive intervention program zeroes in on drivers ages 16 to 25 – the group most likely to be involved in a fatal collision. This course uses workbook exercises, group discussions, role-playing and short lectures to help keep young drivers safe on the road.
For a limited time only, the Illinois Secretary of State has temporarily approved our Virtual Instructor-Led Training as an alternative way to fulfill your Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education in-person classroom requirement. You can easily participate in a virtual training class from anywhere, using just about any device with video chat capabilities and internet connection. Classes fill quickly; reserve your seat today! Instantly view our class schedule and up-to-the-minute seat availability:
You can easily participate in a Virtual Training class using just about any device with video chat capabilities and internet connection.
Your device must have:
If you are attending your Virtual Training class using your cell phone or other wireless device:
If you are attending your virtual training class using your PC or laptop:
The cost of the IL Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education course is just $90 and includes electronic communication of your program completion to the Secretary of State.
The court-ordered/voluntary version of this course available for a $40 fee does NOT include electronic communication of your program completion to the Secretary of State. If the Secretary of State later requires you to take this class, you will then need to complete the state-ordered version of the course for an additional fee of $90. The funds paid for the initial course are non-refundable.
Enroll instantly online. Our secure website provides 24x7 up-to-the-minute seat availability.
You must provide an email address to receive your virtual training class confirmation, which includes a link to your virtual training classroom.
Your course guide will arrive to the mailing address you verified during registration a day or two before your scheduled class date. You must show that you have your course guide available on the day of class to be admitted to your virtual training classroom. If you have not received your course guide by the afternoon the day before your class, please visit www.ddcnsc.org/IL to reschedule prior to the class at no fee. When rescheduling, verify/update the mailing address on your account to ensure that you will receive your course guide.
If you have a new permanent mailing address, make sure you update that information when registering for class. You can complete this on our secure registration website; click HERE. If you need your course guide sent to a temporary address, call (800) 822-7009 and one of our team members will be happy to assist you. Please note: you must call at least two weeks prior to your scheduled class date to change the mailing address for your course guide.
You must attend class in a distraction-free environment and must stay in a single location throughout the duration of class.
AT LEAST 30 MINUTES BEFORE the scheduled start time of your class, click on the virtual training classroom link in your confirmation email.
For your privacy, class check-in is completed on an individual basis. Please enter your first name and the first initial of your last name (as shown in your confirmation email) and your email address when prompted. Then, click “Join Meeting.” You will wait in the "lobby" of your virtual training classroom until it is your turn to be admitted and checked-in by the moderator. You may be waiting for 30 minutes or more. Please be patient. If you get logged off, simply click on the link in your confirmation email again and go back to the virtual training classroom.
During check-in, be prepared to show:
If you do not have your course guide, or if you are unable to provide identification, you will not be admitted to your virtual training class and will need to reschedule. A mandatory rescheduling fee of $90 will apply.
After you are checked in, you will be placed back into the "lobby" of your virtual training classroom while the check-in process is completed for all students. Once everyone is checked in, all students will be brought back into the virtual training classroom from the "lobby" and class will begin.
You are required to begin the check-in process at least 30 minutes prior to the scheduled class start time to provide identification and show that you are prepared with the required course materials. If you attempt to check in after class has begun, you will not be admitted to the virtual training classroom and will need to visit www.ddcnsc.org/IL to reschedule. A mandatory $90 rescheduling fee will apply.
If you are disconnected at any time during your virtual training class, immediately click on the virtual training classroom link in your confirmation email to re-enter the class. You must attend the entire virtual training class to receive credit. If you are disconnected and do not return to class, or miss an excessive amount of class time due to technical difficulties or other reasons, you will need to reschedule your class. A mandatory rescheduling fee of $90 will apply. All course fees are non-refundable. Refunds will not be granted for failure to attend or complete your virtual training class due to technical issues.
Yes, the course includes a 10-question test. Drivers must score 70% or above to successfully complete the course. You will have two attempts to pass the test.
After you successfully complete the course, National Safety Council electronically transmits your program completion information to the Illinois Secretary of State the following business day.
All of our classes are in English unless otherwise noted. If you need assistance with translation, you are welcome to have someone with you to provide support during the class. They must be over the age of 18 and provide proper identification.
Yes. If you no longer live in Illinois and you need to complete the state-ordered Graduate to Safety Driver Remedial Education course, you can attend a Virtual Training class.
Questions regarding violations and driver records must be addressed directly with the Illinois Secretary of State. Please visit cyberdriveillinois.com for more information.
National Safety Council is committed to providing a positive and respectful learning environment. Our Virtual Training Council Code of Conduct outlines expectations of behavior during our classes. Please review prior to class.
National Safety Council is America’s leading nonprofit safety advocate – and has been for over 100 years. As a mission-based organization, we focus on eliminating the leading causes of preventable death so people can live their fullest lives. We focus our efforts where we can make the greatest impact: workplace, roadway and impairment.
Email: [email protected]
Phone: (800) 822-7009
National Safety Council
Attn: IL Remedial Program
200 Salina Meadows Pkwy, Suite 200
Syracuse, NY 13212
Hours of Operation:
Monday through Friday: 7 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.