About the Awards

NSC Announces Green Cross for Safety Award Finalists

Outstanding achievements in safety will be recognized through three distinct awards. Click the links to see the finalists in each category:

  • Excellence: Recognizes the unrelenting pursuit of exceptional, transferrable safety practices
  • Innovation: Recognizes a transformative approach to a long-held challenge in safety
  • Safety Advocate: Recognizes the advancement of evidence-based best practices to raise awareness or change policy to prevent further injuries and deaths

The winner in each category will be announced and celebrated at the Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration May 16, 2019, in Chicago. To learn more about how your company can align its brand with NSC by supporting the 2019 Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration, please contact Jamie Arquilla at [email protected].

Meet the 2018 Green Cross for Safety Award Winners

The National Safety Council recognized the 2018 winners at the Green Cross for Safety Award Celebration May 23, 2018, in Chicago. The awards recognize people and organizations for their commitment to safety and advancement of safe practices in the workplace, in homes and communities, and on the road.

Winners were announced at the Green Cross for Safety Awards Celebration May 23 in downtown Chicago.

Click on the links below for more information about each winner and the finalists in each category:

Safety Advocate Award

Sponsored by FirstGroup

The Safety Advocate Award recognizes those who have made a significant impact on safety by raising awareness and bringing about change.

The 2018 winner was Common Ground Alliance 811 Campaign.

Safety Excellence Award

Sponsored by Schneider Electric

The Safety Excellence Award recognizes a corporation, coalition or organization that relentlessly pursued safety, developed a fresh solution and shared or is ready to share that insight with others.

The 2018 winner was Schneider National.

Safety Innovation Award

Sponsored by UPS

The Safety Innovation Award recognizes a researcher, corporation or organization that approached a long-held challenge and, using a fresh perspective or new idea, developed a transformative response to the problem.

The 2018 winner was Brigham Health Sleep Matters Initiative.

Frequently Asked Questions

This list of FAQs further explains the Green Cross for Safety award process. Learn more.