Marion Martin Award

The Marion Martin Award, presented annually to outstanding female safety professionals, celebrates the accomplishments of women in safety who have achieved professional excellence in their area of specialty and helped pave the way for other women in the profession. Recipients have distinguished themselves in a variety of professional settings and personify excellence on the local, regional, national or international level.

Stephanie Miller
Stephanie Miller is the safety and health manager of critical projects and waste operations for United Cleanup Oak Ridge LLC (UCOR), the premier environmental cleanup contractor for the Department of Energy’s Office of Environmental Management in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. A certified industrial hygienist, certified safety professional and safety-trained supervisor, Miller manages safety and health for capital projects, construction, subcontractors, strategic partnerships and the waste management division, which specializes in transporting and disposing of radiologically and chemically contaminated material from decontamination and demolition of decommissioned nuclear facilities. She has led the development of nationally recognized UCOR programs for total worker health and heat illness prevention, launched several professional development programs and established UCOR’s safety and health internship program. These programs have provided growth pathways and have increased the number of women entering the safety and health field. 

Learn more about the Marion Martin Award and nomination process. For more information, please contact [email protected].

Who is Marion Martin?

Marion Martin spent her life defying stereotypes and breaking down barriers for women. Her political career began in 1930, when she was elected to the Maine House of Representatives. She was re-elected to a second term, then won two terms in the State Senate, where she was the only woman and only non-lawyer on the Legal Affairs Committee.

Ms. Martin later became the first female head of a Maine state government agency. She served as secretary of labor and industry from 1947 to 1962 and found a special delight in championing programs that encouraged women in the workplace. During her tenure and on the strength of her support, legislation involving equal pay for equal work, strong industrial safety, child labor and collective bargaining was passed.

In 1971, Ms. Martin was the first female awardee of the NSC Distinguished Service to Safety Award. NSC is proud to name this award after Ms. Martin. We look forward to continuing a recognition program that celebrates the accomplishments – against many odds – of women in the safety field.

YouTube Video

Shopping Cart

There are no items in your cart